Yoko Ono Arising: A Call to Women Everywhere

Image

It’s amazing to me how alone, isolated, and weak I’ve felt at so many different points in my life for being a woman.  More amazing is the solidarity I’ve found through the network of women in my community regarding our shared and different experiences.  For so long I was gutted and isolated with shame over sexual abuse from my past; I found it hard to love the person I saw in the mirror and felt it was impossible for anyone to ever love me.  On top of the guilt, which eventually faded into a smeared stain in the back of my mind, I was racked with fears of walking home alone at night, unwanted sexual advances, and general demeanment under the plague of patriarchy I experienced all over the world.  Life is hard, all human beings have that in common, but our hardships as women can’t be brushed aside, it’s not just a token phrase.  Whether we are victims of sexual violence, hatred, or bigotry, to name a few, these obstacles should not defeat us.  Why should we be silent?  We are worth more than our scars and we don’t have to be alone in our fight.  These injustices we face as women are abuses to the human race, they effect all of us, regardless of where we stand in gender, orientation, ethnicity, or any other category.

Yoko Ono has been a longstanding siren for women’s rights and has recently launched the Arising campaign.  Through testaments and photos of just your eyes, Yoko invites women of all ages around the world to be part of her latest artistic endeavor.  These submissions will be displayed in her exhibition at the Palazzo Bembo for the 55th Venice Biennale.  A selection of the testaments will also be printed in a book.

WOMEN OF ALL AGES, FROM ALL COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD: YOU ARE INVITED TO SEND A TESTAMENT OF HARM DONE TO YOU FOR BEING A WOMAN. WRITE YOUR TESTAMENT IN YOUR OWN LANGUAGE, IN YOUR OWN WORDS, AND WRITE HOWEVER OPENLY YOU WISH. YOU MAY SIGN YOUR FIRST NAME IF YOU WISH, BUT DO NOT GIVE YOUR FULL NAME. – See more at: http://imaginepowerarising.com/#sthash.oPluAxbV.dpuf

Join the movement, share yourself, embrace each other.

Image

Leave a Reply

